Pan Macmillan are thrilled to share that The Seagull by Ann Cleeves and Little Deaths by Emma Flint are among the longlisted titles for the 2018 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award.

The award- the winner of which will be announced at the annual Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate- celebrates the very best in crime fiction in the UK and Ireland, and is decided by a panel of judges and a public vote.

The Seagull is the eighth novel in Ann Cleeves’ bestselling Vera Stanhope series and available in paperback, ebook and audiobook now.

Emma Flint’s debut novel Little Deaths was inspired by the author's fascination with a real life murder trial in New York in the 1960s, and is available in paperback, ebook and audiobook now.

A shortlist of six titles will be announced on the 27th May, and will be promoted to WHSmith stores and libraries nationwide, and the winner will be announced on the 19th July.

The longlist for the 2018 prize:      

Want You Gone by Chris Brookmyre (Little, Brown)

The Midnight Line by Lee Child (Bantam)

The Seagull by Ann Cleeves (Macmillan)

Little Deaths by Emma Flint (Picador)

The Chalk Pit by Elly Griffiths (Quercus)

The Dry by Jane Harper (Abacus)

Spook Street by Mick Herron (John Murray)

A Death at Fountains Abbey by Antonia Hodgson (Hodder)

He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly (Hodder)

Sirens by Joseph Knox (Transworld)

The Accident on the A35 by Graeme Macrae Burnet (Saraband)

You Don't Know Me by Imran Mahmood (Penguin)

Insidious Intent by Val McDermid (Little, Brown)

The Long Drop by Denise Mina (Vintage)

A Rising Man by Abir Mukherjee (Harvill Secker)

Rather Be the Devil by Ian Rankin (Orion)

The Intrusions by Stav Sherez (Faber)

Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner (The Borough Press)